Alice, Chianti and I

After a long week of work it was so nice to let my hair down. Rather excitingly, I was in a national newspaper this week praising my entrepreneurial flair and growth potential. This has been amazing for me and my business and the phone and emails haven’t stopped!

After working solidly all morning and afternoon, I met Alice at 4pm as she wanted to show me swatches of the bridesmaid dress material. It is a gorgeous blue and is so flattering. We then went to try on different styles in a shop around the corner (oh, to live just off Oxford Street!). After a large glass of Chianti we were chatting about the wedding jitters one gets….sleeping with that one same person for the rest of their lives? Being an actual wife? Do you change your name? If you don’t, is that bad form and an insult to your husband? Alice let slip that she feels she has let go of her ‘dream wedding’ as rather than getting married on a beach in Thailand with just a few close friends and family, she is getting married in Portugal with 120 guests. Putting her wants first is not an option. I guess it is a balancing act; sharing the wishes between you and your future husband.
Well, as long as there is plenty of Chianti….

Leave a comment